Parkdale LabCab Festival.

Another weekend have passed by, so many things happened and here I am struggling with how to write it all down. I have bad memory, the days was so fun and certainly I do not want to forget any single details…

I love festivals in Toronto and all among the festivals that I visited recently, this is one of the best, the most fascinating and entertaining  in Toronto. You can read about Lab Cab festival here.  The festival started during the week of July 26-27 and we came there  Sunday, July 27.

Upon arriving to the festival in which we start walking down from Dufferin and Queen Street East intersection, everyone received a little handbook from the volunteer.

 20140727_140214

Inside the handbook, you will see all of the details about the events, shows, performance and workshops happening in Queen Street West intersecting Dufferin until Roncesvalles Ave.  A little tip next time for anyone coming to the festival, look at the time of the event happening and match it with your starting point or your located area. For example, the event would start at 2pm from dufferin/ queen street and continuing to the next street in the next hour or so.

I did not go to all of them because of a little “ket-chup” to my friend birthday later in the same afternoon, still, I was lucky to be early to the festival and be able to enjoyed myself as much as possible that day.

1. BBQ Free Lunch

The BBQ free lunch started at 2pm in Dufferin Amphitheatre. We were 15 mins early so we could get into one of the first lines.

20140727_140201

Good times the band started preparing too and around 2 there would came the singer.

20140727_140206

20140727_140822

20140727_140824

20140727_140832

Can you believe this all for free? 2 packs of Meal-to- Go with Hot dog- corns, potatoes and a free pop of your choice!!!

While you are waiting, you could listen to French songs and people dancing (me dancing )

2. One minute portrait. 

In the same amphitheatre, we also have little workshop where you can get free children face painting and one minutes blind portrait.

Since I am not a kid anymore, cry* I cant get a colourful face painting so I run up to the blind portrait. >>> Blind portrait is something that when the artist draw your face by looking at you (this is a little awkward) without looking at his or her canvas.

She said the picture doesnt do me justice. I said it looks lovely to me and ask for her signature.

IMG_20140727_142512

oh! I do love it-hehe  ❤

3. Free The Bird.

We went to The Workroom – a participated event venue for the festival. It was kind of a bizarre performance.

Anyway, I do love the tea party theme in the garden at the back of the workroom. Lovely tea & welcoming host. 🙂

20140727_150434

20140727_150439

I didnt take many pictures because of the shutter phone noise.

4. Terrarium Workshop 

We also went to the terrarium workshop in Crown Flora Studio, I did not know we have to book for the workshop and it was all full. However, they gave out beautiful flowers for free in front of the store. I gave it later to the birthday girl (my friend birthday is on the same day- we went to Ten-ichi, please look forward to my next restaurant review).

20140727_134655

Pardon my sickly face.

5. Others. 

There was this experiment that look like to a staring contest to me- but it is spiritually- amusing to my bf. You can find it here – it called how can I kill you after look into your eyes?

The experiment consists of 2 people sitting opposite of each other & have to look at each other eyes until another person want to replace you and they would tap lightly on the participating person’s shoulder. Later, each participants would need to record their thoughts into the notebook. Which later I found it here

As he explained to me “it is difficult to kill someone after you see aspect of yourself in them”…

I felt awkward & I was so glad some guy came up and tap him out.

Oh. Obviously cant wait to show you guys my new Oxford vintage shoes- bought in Common Sort.

IMG_20140727_161419

Laters,

xoxo

A.

4 thoughts on “Parkdale LabCab Festival.”

  1. Truly adore your blog! We should get in touch, I am based out of New York as a wellness beauty advisor and have many client friends in Toronto! Will be visiting up there soon 🙂

    Feel free to drop me an email or add me on IG as @TatiBlossoms and look forward to keep checking out the blog !

    Xx Tatiana

Leave a Reply

